Cover Reveal: Ancestral Night

Hi everyone, We are delighted to reveal the fantastic cover for Elizabeth Bear’s upcoming novel, Ancestral Night. It’s an absolute beauty! We have Orion’s own Tomas Almeida to thank for this stunning design – he’s done justice to what is an outstanding book. Read on for a taster:   Cutting edge ideas and amazing characters in an SF novel that announces the arrival of multi-award winning Elizabeth Bear to the Gollancz list. A wild, big-ideas space opera that will appeal to fans of Iain M. Banks, Peter F. Hamilton and Al Reynolds from a John W. Campbell and multiple Hugo award…

CONTINUE READING

Advice for Writers from Writers – Part Three

For our third collection of #gollanczfest authors providing suggestions and advice on how to be a writer, we welcome Elizabeth Bear, Stan Nicholls, Alex Lamb and Joanne Harris. If you missed the first two parts, click here and here.   Elizabeth Bear: The editor is actually rooting for you to pull it off. Don’t disappoint her. And don’t treat her as an adversary, because she’s not. Get up and stretch and walk around every 50 minutes. Make sure your desk is low enough not to cause wrist and shoulder damage. Hydrate. Back up daily to a new file and two…

CONTINUE READING

Happy Publication Day 30th April 2015

We’d like to wish a very happy Publication Day to all of our books out in bookshops and online today. This week’s new titles feature a ground breaking new space opera from Alastair Reynolds, action-packed SF eBooks from Elizabeth Bear and fantasy and SF from award-winning author Geoff Ryman. SFF fans, we’ve got a plethora of unmissible books to pick up or download from your local bookshop, library or from your preferred e-tailer. Poseidon’s Wake by Alastair Reynolds– The master of the space opera is back with a breath-taking new adventure! Two extraordinary characters, the greatest mysteries of our universe and a…

CONTINUE READING

Announcing the Gollancz Festival Digital Schedule!

Gollancz is delighted to announce our Digital Panel line up for the Gollancz Festival. Our Digital Panels will be taking place ahead of the event at Waterstones Piccadilly on the 13th August 2014. We’ve still got a few secret events up our sleeves, but there are so many brilliant things going on that we couldn’t wait to share! So take a moment to check out the incredible events we’ve got in store – and watch this space for more announcements soon! Gollancz Festival Digital Schedule 09:00* Join us on Pinterest and Twitter for top Convention breakfast tips and ideas from…

CONTINUE READING

Gollancz signs-up space opera from multi-award-winning author Elizabeth Bear

elizabeth bearGollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to a two-book space opera from John W. Campbell and Hugo-Award-winning author, Elizabeth Bear.

Combining a unique concept with a compelling plot, Elizabeth Bear’s novels imagine the invention of The White Drive: an easy, nonrelativistic means of travel across unimaginable distances. The gripping story follows salvage operators, Haimey Dz and her partner Connla Kurucz, as they pilot their tiny ship into the scars left by unsuccessful White Transitions, searching for the relics of lost human – and alien – vessels.

Elizabeth Bear is the author of a number of novels and short stories. She has received extraordinary recognition including two Hugo Awards, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (2005), a Sturgeon Award, a Locus Award, an Asimov’s Reader’s Choice award, a Spectrum Award, and an honourable mention for the Philip K. Dick Award.

Simon Spanton, Gollancz Associate Publisher, acquired World Rights, including Audio, to two novels by Elizabeth Bear from Jennifer Jackson at the Donald Maass agency. The first book, ANCESTRAL NIGHT, will be published in late 2016.

CONTINUE READING